Poets logo

Claustrophobia

When Can I Come Up for Air?

By Khepera JPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
I cannot swim this deep.

Having to be so strong for so long

Only for the people to see

But behind closed doors I melt

I melt like an ice cube in the sun

The tears gripping my face as they run down my cheeks

They bring me relief

... but for just a moment

Until I realize I'm unhappy

Disappointment, pain, and grief cover me like a bride's veil

It is so hard for me to breathe

I’m drowning in this agony

When will this veil be lifted

When will I be free

When will happiness live within me

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Khepera J

Poet. Writer. Singer. Artist. Creator. Goof. Bbq wing and birthday cake lover. Mississippi Born & Raised. Love Ya 3000 ❤️️

Instagram: kheperaj / twitter: kheperaj

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.