Poets logo

Clarity Alongside Chaos

A realist's best-case scenario

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
18
Clarity Alongside Chaos
Photo by Brandon Jaramillo on Unsplash

The wind catches in my giant silver hoops

Tiny vortexes spiraling past my ears

Wailing gently

Like a conch shell

Or a bubble wand

Or the sigh of my soul as I perch high in a church

for a God in which I have no faith

My thoughts vacillating from purest piety to deepest sin

From ecstasy to agony

On two uncoordinated sine curves,

Intersecting in a pattern too complex

for my mortal mind to comprehend

I give thanks for it all

I shiver with peace

I shiver with fear

I shiver with rebellion

I shiver with cold too

Yet I am content

When bells chime with incessant jubilance

Or wind channels its keening directly into my ear canal

I am overwhelmed with noise

And I hear the poetry

My mind is a storm in a teacup

A macchiato monsoon

Deliciously bitter, and charged with all the divine radiance of lightning

That parts oily charcoal clouds

for brief moments of clarity alongside chaos

Free Verse
18

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Very unique and really let's one see your passion for writing.

  • You have a really gorgeous style to your work. Absolutely a pleasure to read!

  • Annie Edwards 4 months ago

    Love this!!! I felt very connected, and related to it tremendously.

  • Adam 4 months ago

    Exceptional work! congratulations!❤️

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    Nice poem. Congrats on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    A macchiato monsoon, I love it!

  • Atomic Historian4 months ago

    Beautiful. Inspiring. I love the image too. I hope you don't mind, I'm going to look for it and see what it inspires. I love seeing it when other people use the same image I have, but write something I may have never thought of.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This is a wowser moment. Love the way you weaved the words on this one. Congrats on Top Story. You have a new subscriber!

  • Matthew Fromm4 months ago

    great poem and congrats on the top story!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Peace. A moment of peace. Where things align. That's what I get from this. And midnight mass on Christmas Eve. That too. I loved this.

  • This felt so intense. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.