Poets logo

Citizen of the Stars

A poem for inhabitants comforted by nature

By ChoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

My loyalty is as a man of the nowhere -- the forest

is my domicile,

I pledge allegiance to skies above and to the brush beneath my feet.

While in this congested city I remain a ghost of anguish, prisoner

to the walls and wills of mankind.

Clear barriers displaying my peace but hindering entry to the outside

massive windows muting the whisper of nature, yet if I

merely touch the cool glass and close my eyes -- I hear her once more

lulled discourse between the branches of trees.

How calming are dialects of winds and waters,

oh, how I long to converse with you, to seek refuge amongst your occupants

for I swear I will go insane if I stay in this obscure house!

Dear God, grant this wayward and tired soul just one prayer -- let the woods consume me.

Can you not hear the moon as it beckons my call to residency,

might I for all eternity occupy the clouds as native and friend.

For I am devoted to the sun as it rises and sets -- being a man of the nowhere

my place is many places, but none truer than as explorer and citizen of the stars.

nature poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Cho

I became a writer by way of passion & circumstance. Both allow me to speak on lived experiences, as well as the imaginative & creative. I love reading all types of literary works. Truly elated to be a part of the Vocal community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jacob Sherman2 years ago

    Excellent. Hits home in a heartbeat. I'm unironically going to go touch some grass now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.