Poets logo

Circles

A poem

By Raye WhitePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Don’t try to make me walk from A to B, in a straight line, when I want to walk in circles.

I want to meander. To drift and explore curious places.

I want to see what’s under that stone and what creature of the forest is peeking out at me from behind that tree, to listen to the nature spirits singing softly in the breeze.

I want to stop. To breath. To feel the kiss of the wind upon my cheek, to feel the tickles of corn upon my palms as I dance and I twirl the song of the land.

So let me stand with my eyes wide shut, heart wide open, palms facing the sky, sensing beneath my bare feet, the pulsating, heartbeat of our earth with contended sigh.

Let me trace the patterns on leaves just to see where they end up, in the place of no time, again and again in awe of natures most intricate designs.

Don’t hurry me as I stop and wonder at the vastness of a clear blue sky, or salute the rising sun, or bathe in the glow of the moon. Let me be in awe of how each day, life paints itself anew.

Let me Be. Let me See… For I like walking in circles. I like revelling in the miracle that is creation, appreciating the beauty and the splendour before me.

Please. Don’t force me to walk in a straight line. You who is always looking over there. Always there. Never here.

Come. Take my hand. Spiral dance with me.

Let me show you how to See on the journey from A to Be...

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Raye White

Sacred pen holder, spiritually inclined, blogs, writes poems and speaks them as The Bendy Witch. A tzolkin white wizard, teaches yoga & meditation, practices shamanism, loves dragons and faeries, lives on boat. A wizard is never late...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.