Poets logo

Cinammon Toast

by Aaron

By Aaron RichmondPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Cinammon Toast
Photo by Dawn Kim on Unsplash

With steady courage, my mother will rise,

To toast bread with butter for both of us guys,

Adding cinnamon sugar, as a sweet surprise.

***

By the heated stove, my mother cries,

As this simple pleasure is offered in guise,

With steady courage, my mother will rise.

***

The sweetened smell to my nose complies

Smallest moments of loving tries,

Adding cinnamon sugar, as a sweet surprise.

***

Each bite I savor is laced with goodbyes,

I taste the pain of the hurt and the lies,

With steady courage, my mother will rise.

***

Cold butter melts as my searing heart implies

Love unaccepting of compromise,

Adding cinnamon sugar, as a sweet surprise.

***

Around mouthfuls of toast time effortlessly flies,

Transient as the lives we devise.

With steady courage, my mother will rise,

Adding cinnamon sugar, as a sweet surprise.

Villanelle
3

About the Creator

Aaron Richmond

Words weave, worlds unfold,

Growth, knowledge, imagination,

Aaron's artistry flows.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Mmmm, I can almost smell it! Loved your yummy poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.