Poets logo

chronosynclastic infundibulum

or: duality

By Eliza Mae WinfreePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
chronosynclastic infundibulum
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

In The Sirens of Titan,

The book Lily told me about

When I was in the hospital,

Kurt Vonnegut invented a plot device,

As he so often did.

“Chronosynclastic infundibulum,”

He called it,

And I briefly dated a guy who said that

That was a very fancy way to describe duality.

He wasn’t exactly wrong.

Chronosynclastic infundibulum is the concept

Of time,

Such that time was shaped like a funnel,

And that sometimes people who got stuck in it

Could exist in all of time

All at once.

The way he explained it,

In very Vonnegut fashion,

Was to invent a children’s book and say that,

If two children think their fathers are the smartest fathers in the world,

The universe

-Time, space, all that jazz -

Is shaped to allow both children to be right.

Because of Chronosynclastic Infundibula,

Multiple things can be true,

Even if they seem to conflict.

Duality.

He made it all up,

And I know that,

But I hope some part of it’s true,

Because I hope that somewhere in the universe

-Time, space, all that jazz-

There exists a version of me forgiven

In a version of Time where conflicting things can be true:

Where I can be both fully flawed and fully loved.

All at once.

Duality.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eliza Mae Winfree

My name is Eliza. The words "delightful" and "mess" have been used to describe me (in the same sentence). I write about music, mental health, politics, pop culture, and pop history. I love folk music, puppies, hot coffee, and poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.