Poets logo

Chronically Orange

Illness can't change my color

By Molly HopkinsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chronically Orange
Photo by Dobranici Florin on Unsplash

I am the rosy peach flushed dawn

Ready to spark awake,

Yearning to kindle to a passioned flame,

To set life and love ablaze.

To touch the earth with color and light

With kindness and justice and beauty.

To change a generation, a person, a moment

For the better earnestly grips my heart.

And yet my life, the world, my body,

Fight me every step,

Dulling orange to an unfulfilled tarnish,

Cold and horribly still.

I cannot do it. Symptoms flare

If I dare to try,

Starving my scintillae of oxygen.

What am I to do?

Will I ever reach beyond

To touch the world with my fire?

Will I pass in a puff of smoke,

Never to gleam or glitter?

Regardless of the frightening unknown,

I resolve to try,

To gently glow with sunny purpose

Until my last breath is done.

By Lorene Farrugia on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Molly Hopkins

I am a writer who battles severe chronic illness with a spunky attitude, determined to find the gold in the gray.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.