Poets logo

Chosen Family

Haikus about how I define home

By SHPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chosen Family
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

How is home defined?

Is it a physical place?

Or is it people?

My home is people

Who I surround myself with

Is just home for me

Chosen family

Is how I define a home

With them, I feel home

My best friends are that

They are chosen family

Even from far away

In person, it’s like

Nothing has changed, we bring home

Wherever we are

Home is when we are

Together and apart too

Home is everywhere

Even when distanced

They give me that home feeling

Support, Love, and Joy

Being away from

My home does get slightly tough

But we make it work

Even from far away

I still feel at home with them

Nothing can stop us

We love to connect

Through different technology

We bring home to us

Reuniting us

Brings back my feeling of home

As a group, we’re home

Together, we’re home

My chosen family is

How I define home

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

SH

Sometimes I write to bring myself peace. If you read anything, thank you. I'm grateful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.