Poets logo

Chin Up

A Reminder Poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Chin Up
Photo by Eddie Kopp on Unsplash

It’s getting harder to

keep my chin up

with the weight of the world pulling it down.

I see the cracks in the pavement,

the dirt and discarded things.

Gutter water seems like an ocean in which I could drown.

It’s hard to look up when the sun seems too bright.

I’ve been in the dark so long,

I’ve become aversive to the light.

I left an ember sparking in me,

to help me warm my bones and soul.

That little spark has started to ignite.

The sunlight lifts my chin and frames its rays like a crown,

I feel that warmth surround me

and remember I don’t always have to look down.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jackie Teeple4 months ago

    Here’s to looking up

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    "The sunlight lifts my chin and frames its rays like a crown" - such beautiful lines, Josey.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.