Poets logo

Chills Run Down My Spine

And Follow Me In The Night

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Chills Run Down My Spine
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Cold night, moon bright and pale

Swathes of mist, a ghostly contrail

Cool air seeps into my bones

My breathing, light, and frail

***

Night sounds send chills down my spine

Hairs on my neck stand guard

Eyes try to pierce the midnight gloom

Happiness scarred

***

Alone and frightened by empty sounds

Monsters and animals imagination bound

Myself and the night as far as the eye can see

Which isn’t very far

***

The hills and trees

Silhouetted in sharp relief

Invisible predators stalk lupine

Seeking their nightly living meal ,

***

As chills run down my spine

***

Where no-one follows, my footsteps in the night

I creep and crawl to remain out of sight

Alone in the darkness of my soul

Wishing I was loved but still ,

***

I am a man alone ,

***

And chills run down my spine

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.