Poets logo

Children Fall and We Are Alone

4/2/22 10:34am

By Olivia DodgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I had a dream I caught a falling baby from a tree

Perhaps this is the child Doris told me about

The children’s songbook, she’d said

Pages warped with time and font swirled in my jaw

My legs carry me along the edge of a park

Cruelty-clad on the streets of Chicago

Players in a game, all of you

Those around me as well as within me

Sluggish steps towards the loneliest of light

He must feel the isolation in this decaying city

Wisdom held tightly on his tongue

The Elephant, full of used furniture and hand-painted crockery

I tell him to go here, search for burnt orange

Here is that lonely light in his eyes

Here is the tree beneath which I swaddled you

Motionless, glowing, waiting, listening

Here there are fireflies in my palms

— ODH

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Olivia Dodge

21 | Chicago

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.