Poets logo

Chicken noodle soup

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
5

There’s a woman that lives on the ground floor of my building.

She decorates the fence beside the garbage cans for Halloween.

She hung Christmas lights in the rotting stairwell.

It doesn’t get rid of the stench of cigarettes, and it doesn’t make up for the crazy woman on my floor that bangs on the walls and screams at us from outside of our doors.

It doesn’t make up for my landlord that told me she was just having a bad day.

But it’s something,

And sometimes the hallways smell like chicken noodle soup and popcorn.

And sometimes I hear people laughing from their open windows.

And the Christmas lights in the stairway make it look less daunting.

slam poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictionart
5

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    So much encapsulated in so few words. I thoroughly enjoyed this and will be subscribing.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    This is great. A small vignette that provides a window into a world. To create so much with so few words is a real skill. Enjoyed this. Off to check out more of your stuff.

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    Love this - like Celia said "the small things" I would have liked to have seen her smile as she hung the lights!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.