Poets logo

Chef Cheese And His Rat

The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Much later I began to understand that

Trying to interpret the aggressive rat

Who sat

Smirking and fat

Swiping my cheese

Doing as he please

True I had much more

But what did he do this for

Acting like a snake in an apple core

Ruining my shredded bliss

Thrown onto my grocery list

Trying to figure out what was happening

I used my fingers to do some tapping

Strategy, I took time and made

And I headed into to the kitchen to invade

His small home

Where he lived all alone

“You stole something from me

I do see,”

Were the words, I said

With an expression screaming ‘you are dead’

Now this villain

Who was still in

The grab and go mode

Was not going to fold

After enjoying his meal that was yellow and gold

He just sat there

Not even scared

Giving me the “I got away with it stare”

Why did I never see it for what it was?

And contemplate what cheese does

Energizing food making the entrée come alive

Being the sparkle when it arrives

On the gourmet plate

Worth the wait

But now it has been taking

Never reaching the oven for baking

Where is that bloody rat?

Who satirically sat

Nibbling at my cheese

Doing as he please

“Why I am right here,”

He did sneer

Wondering why I have not served him a beer

“Very good slice

It went down real nice”

The rat did say

Having it his own way

Looking into his beaty eyes

Swirling with lies

I only wanted to mention

Getting his attention

“You runed my dish

Was that your wish”

Having a guilty feeling

The culprit critter thought about the stealing

I watched his stomach start to rattle

Due to this wrongful tattle

Then it all came out

“You just barfed,” I did shout

Filled with golden orange yellow goo

The guilty overeater wondered what I would do

With the new creation on the menu known as ‘the rat’s cheesy stew ‘

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.