Poets logo

Cheesy

Not, not that kind of cheesy

By Jenn KirklandPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Cheesy
Photo by Azzedine Rouichi on Unsplash

I miss cheese.

~~~~~~

The Cheddar and American,

Havarti-dill and Brie,

Mozzerella, Provolone,

They are all bad for me.

~~~~~~

I really miss the Gouda,

Especially when smoked,

I even long for Parmesan,

Not my fave but now revoked.

~~~~~~

I can handle other dairy,

Of the sour fermented kind,

The kefir and the yogurt,

With my system are aligned.

~~~~~~

One would think it's just the lactose,

But there also is the whey,

That leads to sniffly noses,

Which I try to keep at bay.

~~~~~~

It used to be that sheep milk,

Or goat would suit me fine,

But lately that is not the case,

So on them I won't dine.

~~~~~~

I had not quite yet noticed,

How much cheese I eat each day,

Until I had the stomach flu,

Some virus in the fray.

~~~~~~

In any case I've noticed,

That butter is all right,

And yogurt, kefir, spiced or not,

Don't keep me up all night.

~~~~~~

Poet's note: I've been aware of a mild dairy allergy since about 1993, when I was tested for it, but it seemed to be mostly in abeyance and I could manage small amounts or most dairy foods every day unless there was something else going on. Most years around the first of the year I would think wow, I sure ate a lot of dairy this holiday season, and I would stop for a while.

But I'm 53, and my system seems more ah... complicated these days.

I miss cheese. I'm sure I'll miss other dairy-heavy holiday treats and comfort foods, like cream of mushroom soup or fudge or even pizza.

But they're not worth feeling awful every day.

list
6

About the Creator

Jenn Kirkland

I'm a kinda-suburban, chubby, white, brunette, widowed mom of a teen and a twenty-something, special services school bus driver, word nerd, grammar geek, gamer girl, liberal snowflake social justice bard, and proud of it.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.