Poets logo

chartreuse

on love

By ghostsandrebelsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
First Place in From Across the Room Challenge
138
chartreuse
Photo by Boris Smokrovic on Unsplash

and i sit

my fingers grappling

purple stained from the

ink

of my feather pen

and i watch

as you work the room

the way you do

& what is a beautiful face like yours

doing in an unravelled mind like mine?

and i stare

my face upturned

monotonous and blank

the way it always is

and i speak so infrequently

i may as well not speak at all

& you don’t tell me

you love me

but you don’t have to

a splash of orange

in the sky

sets a dreamy atmosphere

i trace over my canvas

and my pencil

and your skin

and i sit

my fingers cramped from capturing

& why does the silence

sound different

when i am with you?

my mind tingles

the kind of noise

that isn’t noise at all

& i can’t sleep

& i dream in colour

you are my favourite colour

and you splash over the edges

art
138

About the Creator

ghostsandrebels

i'm a a queer writer, poet, cat lover, and author. i'm passionate about psychology, human rights, and creating places where lgbt+ youth and young adults feel safe, represented, and supported.

29 | m.

follow me on threads for more.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Magnificent poem! So glad I found it and consumed it in a gulp!

  • Teresa Renton2 years ago

    Completely mesmerised by the depth of your beautiful writing. And wow … what a finale ❤️

  • Cat Lady P2 years ago

    This reminds me of my love for my fiance and what we once had....

  • N. S. Robbins2 years ago

    Yep, that is a winner. wonderful flow, engaging energy. Congrats!!

  • "you are my favorite color, and you splash over the edges" is joy and ecstasy all mixed up. Truly beautiful. (P.S. I have to ditch the extra Us, American spelling, or it corrects me.)

  • The whole poem is colorful but that closure, love splashing all over the edges is metaphorically fabulous!

  • Raja2 years ago

    You had me at “I write gay shit” this poem is a teal and pink splash for me. 😃

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Love this

  • Beautiful sequence.

  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    What a deep piece. I loved your writing.

  • I found myself, standing in the corner of your story, watching you create a masterpiece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.