Poets logo

Charcoal Sunny Raindrops

Charcoal Sunny Raindrops

By Tanea HillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I remembered the day the old man sat on the milk crates.

As I strolled by

he hit his drumstick on a steel pan and

sang his tune

He turned to me and said

I can see tomorrow's future

I dropped two quarters into a coffee cup and

took a seat across from him.

Fifty cents for my reading today

Sam,

I replied

Sam smiled as he offered me a overgrown

blueberry on a napkin

With a splash of whip cream and a mini fork.

Eat up and then we will get started, he said.

Anyhow,

What you got for me to read?

I handed him an antique heart shaped locket with red velour on the inside.

Sam was amazed by the beauty of the locket.

It looked to have egyptian hieroglyphics and english inscriptions on it.

We held hands for a moment and meditated for a second.

Sam opened the locket

Suddenly a charcoal grey dust cloud appeared

Trees begin to wither

Leaves were dried and crumpled

A tornado cloud swept us to the

Dow stock exchange

A giant clock hung above us with

Numbers running

Atm machines released red stamped currency that read:no value

Suddenly the earth was spinning beneath our feet

Deceased animals now skeletons lay across the fields

Oceans now thirsty

The fish turned purple

One raindrop fell from the sky and splashed my forehead

I prayed for another raindrop to splash Sam

As he had become dehydrated.

Wait here for another raindrop

Sam said to me

We laid across the field with the deceased animals

Suddenly I felt a bottle of water in my bag

Me and Sam took turns drinking

We knew the world had ended

As we lay across the field

Hoping for another gigantic raindrop

to splash our foreheads.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Tanea Hill

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.