Poets logo

Chapters

It was over before it even began

By Shelby MundayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Chapters
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Thought we’d have more time together, girl you left without a second look.

I guess this is how the story ends, funny, I hoped it’d be more like a chapter book.

It’s more like a few paragraphs, admittedly it’s not a lot.

Wanted to extend this little thing we had, here it is the afterthought.

Knew better than to bet on you, but my heart was set on you.

And as much as I’d love to blame the rest on you, i played a part in this game too.

What was I supposed to do, when I was so lost, but I felt so damn close to you?

Naive as hell, thought we were connecting for real this time.

Completely misread your directions, I just laid back and closed my eyes, enjoyed the ride instead of following the signs.

You never had to say it, could read it in your body language, you showed me I was not your only focus so many times.

But the way you would engage me, you know that you amazed me and I wish you weren’t the reason that I had to write this rhyme.

I used to think you were the sweetest flavor, now your name leaves a bad taste inside my mouth.

Did I leave anything out? It’s already gone south, this is the remainder.

Always knew you were the baddest bitch, now I know you’ve always been on your worst behavior.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.