Poets logo

Channeling

my past into present-day art

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Painting by author

pigments engrained within each fiber

perceived as color by the naked eye

transformed through manipulation

their history engrained with mine

every tiny molecule does what it knows how to do best

–blend

🎨

every hue in my world transferred into creativity

while I daydream on a blank slate

understanding that there is

no need to be perfect

there is no wrong or right

scaffolding the areas that will become the highlight

🎨

each medium has built-in properties that allow

particles to stay together

to keep their shine

to cover that blank surface

no parts left untouched

capturing a moment in time

whose meaning can be changed

by how it appears in the dark

in the light

in the squint of an eye

near and far

🎨

many values lie in the process

🎨

within me lies all the built-in properties I need in this life

as long as the air continues to fill my lungs

my hand and brush will work in unison as the imagination runs freely–jumping around in a playground

being curious

while stamping scenes from my memory

in a relaxed environment

to create music with the sounds of brush strokes

leaving their mark on a canvas

some areas broken

rough

smooth

dark

light

all parts of me spilled in color

🎨

a beautiful balance that compliments me in multiple ways

an honest piece because in my art, I reveal some of my truth

a reminder because in each one of us, there is a past

a transformation

a cherished memory gained over the years

a reason to smile

....

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.