Poets logo

Changes

Lost In A Memory

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Changes
Photo by Matthew Davis on Unsplash

Dancing with the devil, before the gray foreboding sky

Images of yesterday, and when we had to say goodbye

She kept us glued together, now we’ve been scattered in the wind

Tomorrow is a promise, we may never see again

Remembering a different world, the one she kept alive

Another loss of innocence, all gone, the day she died

Can’t believe she’s gone away, I never knew the day would come

That home would become a place

I really don’t belong

Once a place where dreams were magic, manifesting memories

Now an overwhelming garden in dire need of TLC

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    Oh Kelli How I feel you. The longing for before: ‘Remembering a different world, the one she kept alive …’ When my Mum died. Our family fell apart into chaos. I felt my presence tolerated and I went to gatherings with my son, attending for him and him alone. Many times I felt completely rejected. Scorned. Since that day 2 relationships have been repaired. But the sister I was so close to over many, many years has completely withdrawn. Missing in action. Telling me 3 or so years ago that I was not family. Pauline 🌸

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Such sentiment in this one, Kelli! I felt this so much - to me it speak of remembering what "home" used to be; the nostalgia for something that doesn't exist in the sam way anymore ❤️ Amazing work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.