Poets logo

Changed

Now, it's all a bad dream...

By Shalika V.Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Brought up in a different place,

Life I learnt in my own ways,

Felt every moment, enjoyed every day,

Never cared about my future that lay.

Then, one day my life changed,

Ahead of me lay many-a-twist,

Had to survive in this new place, had to clear this mist,

Everything I did was in the bad list.

Everyone blamed me for who I was,

Even if it wasn't my mistake,

People put my reputation at stake.

Anger in their eyes glowed red,

Because of them I cried myself to bed,

I wished that such a life shouldn't be led.

I missed me home,

I missed that dome,

I missed everyone back there,

My life got stuck in this dirty lair,

I couldn't come out, I didn't dare.

A fragile fawn I was back then,

Before I entered this cruel den,

Horrible! my life was made,

Scared of all the darkness that laid.

I tried to run away, I couldn't.

I tried to negotiate, but they wouldn't.

I thought of fighting back, but I didn't.

I prayed to God everyday,

Please O Lord! show me a way,

God got tired, on me he quit,

No path for me was lit.

I gave up, no hope was left in me,

My cage wasn't opened, I wasn't left free.

I breathed me last in this devil's cage,

As a ghost now, I write this page...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shalika V.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.