Poets logo

Change

Admonition of the page dweller.

By Christopher ZacharyPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Change
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I am these words for you dear reader to show you how it's done,

and as you read these lines read as though you're the only one.

Here alone I dwell on page, for none but you to see.

And across all the universe there's only you and me.

In your life, each day, your thoughts are yours alone,

and as your heart beats in time it's for your thoughts to hone.

I, however, am sound in shape, empty in your absence.

Without one to look upon me, I truly make no sense.

You awake and rise to life, a new chance every day.

Even if on more than one you just sleep it away.

I am confined by they who penned me to the page,

I cannot change, not in the least little way.

You are unique, each quirk a marker of your being,

and when you look back on your days I hope that you are seeing,

that none around can define what it is to be you.

Indeed, unlike me, that's what only you can do.

So recognize, I hope you do, that lest you are a word,

to let others define you is simply absurd.

If you need reminding, simply look upon a page,

See that we upon it envy your capacity to change.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Christopher Zachary

Nuclear physicist by training, genetic analyst by practice, writer, book lover, and anachronism at heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.