Poets logo

Chambers that Echo

Falling for a stranger

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chambers that Echo
Photo by Omer Salom on Unsplash

Your footsteps echo in the chambers of my heart

And I never knew what I wanted from the start

You walk alone in the right atrium

Each step resonating like voices in a stadium

Down the stairs to the right ventricle

Turning my thoughts to something eccentrical

Take the escalator to my left atrium

My heart starting to run like kids in a gymnasium

Your last stop is the drop to my left ventricle

Your face, now the sun, my thoughts, heliocentrical

You are what now causes my heart to beat

No blood compares to the rhythm of your feet

And yet, we haven't had the chance to meet

I've merely seen you from across the street

Our eyes have yet to lock

And my stomach feels like a rock

You look up and I see your soul

As historic and valued as ancient scrolls

It's been written in books throughout history

The idea of love no longer a mystery

Our love should be like those of fame

As strong and sure as an everlasting flame

Rooted in the depths of earth

Knowing, showing, growing in worth

Planning our future as if we have a clue

Making decisions, our lives, anew

And to think this happens in the fraction of a second

My mind, my heart, my life, they beckon

Getting closer in every moment

My soul is now my bestowment

As you approach you start to smile

And you are the epitome of my style

And as you pass me by

My hopes themselves start to die

As I realize the smile and your affection

Is aimed in someone else's direction

And as your hands interlock with theirs

I have just realized my worst fears

That someone I saw ever so briefly

Could make me fall so naively

And your footsteps that echoed with every stride

Now left the chambers of my heart roadside

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.