Poets logo

Chains

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chains
Photo by Daniel von Appen on Unsplash

How perplexing is this:

being stuck in a perpetual cycle of

ups and downs, but with the understanding

that the downs are far deeper than anticipated jumps into space.

How I long to flee,

and how I long to stay.

Somehow, things seem rightly wrong here,

and, all the same, wrongly right.

For whatever reason, I stir towards devoting myself to work.

Whether it be sitting in front of text and reading it over and over,

or glancing over meaningless essays or stories with characters more alike me than anyone else,

I prefer being captured in my dome.

This tiny shell, which, in its years of use

had accustomed itself to my voice,

is my permanent home.

In it, I often sit on either end of the glass.

It doesn’t bother me. There are no laws, no guards, no protocols.

Yet the chains remain,

hanging on the grey walls,

urging for their prisoner to return,

and yet begging to never be used again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.