Poets logo

Chained And Shackled

From birth I have been diligently searching for that hidden key

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
13
Chained And Shackled
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Okay guys, here comes my brutal honesty

And I apologise in advance for this exposure,

But I was prompted to discuss my one desire

So please take heed of my full disclosure.

***

My one desire, oh what could it possibly be

That game of hide and seek I’m forever playing,

I need give it no thought as the answer is easy

I want to be me, not the image I’m portraying.

***

I want to be comfortable in my own skin

Find a way to beat my Impostor Syndrome,

Leave behind the crippling guilt I feel

The disbelieve of my thoughts do roam.

***

You can tell me that I’m worthwhile

I’ll smile and show my gratitude,

But five minutes later I will disbelieve

Convinced I’ve fooled you with my attitude.

***

I’ve lived in these rusty shackled chains

Constantly fighting and searching for a key,

I’ve lifted every rock, dug in every crevice

Until I find it, I’m not free to be the real me.

***

It’s been so long that I could not tell you

Who is that real me, who really is she,

I would love to have my true freedom

For once be unshackled, unchained and free.

***

It’s all very easy to say believe in yourself

But live just one very long day in my head,

I promise you’ll not come back another day

Even the bravest of souls would fear to tread.

***

I’ll pushed my way forward and continue the fight

Searching high, searching low, where could it be,

It’s buried deep and the treasure map’s been lost

My deepest desire, to finally find that hidden key!

**********************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful poem. I hope you found you.

  • This was very relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.