Poets logo

Chained

"A pity beyond all telling is hid in the heart of love."-Yeats

By Vivian ClarkePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chained
Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

I am a dog chained to a fence every day

But only after I fetch the paper

Roll over, and play

Only after I submit to pets

And show you an abundance of love

Then I am locked up again

Under gray skies above

You do not come to feed me

Or give me any love

But you unchain me every morning

To serve you for days

But now my ribs are sharp as knives

Like the questions in my mind

Why will you not feed me?

Why will you not pet me

And take me inside?

You unhook my chain

It slipping easily off my gaunt paw

You guide me inside

For once to let me thaw

A flash of hope

He will will take care of me at last!

My sacrifices have won me love!

But you sit down with a weary sigh

And look me distrustfully in the eye

"There is one last thing you can do for me," you say

"You can lay down and die"

2015

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.