Poets logo

Chablis

Poem

By Marilyn GloverPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by <a href="https://pixabay.com/users/amberhorse-27728674/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=7232349">AmberHorse</a> from <a href="https://pixabay.com/?utm_source=link-attribution&amp;utm_medium=referral&amp;utm_campaign=image&amp;utm_content=7232349">Pixabay</a>

I raise my hand in a toast to you and me

Chablis

A private moment

Acknowledging fluidity

My tendency to be overly sentimental

Sweet, often wearing my heart on my sleeve

Pairs well with your persona

Sophisticated; sickly sweet, you are not

Albeit, I once thought your humor was a bit dry

Then I got to know you

Chablis

♥︎

Now I see you are a loyal friend

Pure intentions; crisp, clean, calm, and collected

You work the room with your class

Never boisterous outright laughter; subtlety

Guaranteed smiles all around

Even if only internalized

Because some of the greatest moments are personal

Thank you, I must, for indulging me

My friend

Chablis

♥︎

So much is expected of me

My aim is to please encourages presumption

You assume no pressure

Holding to a white grape's standard

No, instead, you absorb and reflect

Burgundy's terroir

What a beautiful sentiment that is

To reach and grow, remaining constant

My dear

Chablis

♥︎

You keep me grounded

Knowing your citrus essence delights

Swirling pear and vanilla perfumes

Refreshing, not pungeant

Laid back yet with an ultra-fine command

I will follow your lead simply being me

Extra isn't necessary; I am more than enough

Our auras are equivalent; matching green-yellow hues

Self-love, no matter the surroundings

♥︎

From one who creates herself to another

I hold my glass

Toasting you; toasting us

Our fluidity

My dearest, Chablis

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.