Poets logo

Celebration

Breaking the Chains that Bind

By Sidney SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Celebration
Photo by Chris Yang on Unsplash

Celebrate with me

I am here in this moment

I am the one who is chosen

To be set free

In the darkness and envy

In the land of good and plenty

I am the one

who soaks up the sun

and lets out victory

one moment you see me

And then I am gone

At the sound of the gong

Rising within me

A voice for a voiceless society

That was once too afraid to speak

The cycle starts, breaks, ends

with me

But do you see the demons?

They hide in every corner

full of misconceptions and horror

They hold me in my sleep

Chase me in my dreams

Watching every moment

Sucking out my energy

I start to wonder if I am really free

As I cry myself to sleep

Living with the hauntings

ancestors once plead

Dead and gone now

While I sit here and bleed

It is what no one sees

You see a face so happy

Filled with joy and glee

to be in one little spot of the world

That celebrates my victory

A wall is sheltering

keeping us safe within

Out there they perceive our sin

Inside I am safe for the moment

But I was always just as broken

Dealing with the trauma

That others label as self inflicted

I can not help what I’ve inherited.

So, celebrate with me

In this moment

I am the one who is chosen

To be broken

Hurting for the cause

gaze upon my wounds

close up or abroad

Maybe you will find freedom too

Celebrate with me

Celebrate with me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sidney Smith

A picture tells a thousand words, and a thousand words can paint a beautiful picture.

I have been a writer all of my life. It has been like an anchor for me to release emotions, process ideas, and escape into a world of fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.