Poets logo

CC

2C

By Mark Stigers Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
CC
Photo by Rostyslav Savchyn on Unsplash

As I awoke, and Dream Land faded

A complex image I could still see

And I was struck by a strange thought

Was someone trying to talk to me?

It seems like each dream is a seed

That is planted in one’s mind

Is that how Knowledge is to be spread

Across vast amounts of Spacetime

Indeed, each idea that I have had

Is in my ear described

Is something trying to ensure

That Life’s Curiosity will survive

Where do ideas come from?

Out of nowhere, do they just appear?

I want to know how do thoughts form

In the space between one’s ears?

I can tell you how to tie your shoes

I can describe a thousand different tools

But when I ask how we get ideas

There seems to be no rules

There are things that help one think

It is not like exercising or lifting a weight

Calm yourself, sit quietly in a room

Free your mind, and then wait

There does not seem to be

A pill that one can take

That will give one the idea you need

To solve a problem great

Do ideas in one’s mind belong to you

If you don’t know how they got there?

Did something whisper a secret in your ear

Or do thoughts form out of thin air?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.