Poets logo

Cb

The coffee balcony

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
3
Cb
Photo by Jeremy Yap on Unsplash

I am here in this place of comfortable respite; it is not mine.

I am an intruder in another’s space.

His home of sometimes peace and solitude. Sometimes solitude and the sinking mind.

The time shared here with my friend has provided me with hope.

Could I exist in a parallel space?

Could I more than exist?

I push away the thoughts.

I exist now.

Don’t dare hope.

I am here in this place of comfortable respite; it is not mine.

I remember to slide the screen door closed as I take a seat without seeking permission.

This alone is a privilege. I recognise it and am thankful.

I can see the horizon.

It is not distant or dizzying.

It’s where I imagine it should be.

I think fact.

I close my eyes.

I’m on the balcony and with the rain comes thunder rumbling.

Is it finally here?

Or just momentary relief from the stupefying heat and humidity.

It could sustain me for a day. A few.

A week?

I open my eyes as the breeze intensifies and there are snap flashes of distant lightning.

Is it finally here?

Or just momentary relief from the stupefying heat and humidity.

I shut my eyes to absorb the sweet possibility.

It is pointless.

I can’t stop the nystagmus.

My eyes quick flick an involuntary cycle of a racing mind. It’s no longer thoughts. Its an ecalayion to screaming patterns.

I’m at this stage; beyond the slippery tails to screaming patterns.

And I know, that if I can’t make it to the end of the week,

It will be time to make the call for a chance to stabilise and regulate.

I hate this fear and dependency.

An Admission to the Toowong Private Hospital to find sleep and sanity. 

But I’ll fight it because if I admit defeat?

It comes with new subtle punishments.

Then Admission work undone with further loss of confidence.

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

http://toowongprivatehospital.com.au

Pauline Fountain. © 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    This was so emotional! Very beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.