Poets logo

Caves

Life is never as simple as you think.

By Becca MaharPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like

Desire expands into

several caves of mystery and strangeness

that cannot be explored in a single lifetime.

Each tunnel taking a new turn

into the unknown

that only your heart knows

leads to something you’ve yet

wanted to discover.

Some stay at the entrance,

unwilling to push forwards for the monsters

that lurk in the darkness

may have their own face.

Some go in skipping,

knowing that whatever they will face

will teach them a lesson

they would rather learn now

than later.

I take the slow approach to each cave.

Knowing I need to learn what lessons

are reflected in the dark,

but also fearful of the truth

I do not seek.

The monsters that call my name,

sound like home.

The screams of the past,

sound like a lullaby.

The silence that deafens my ears,

remind me of what I fear

and what I have been avoiding.

My lantern flickering as I continue further,

my compass spinning,

and my breath stopping.

Acceptance is not easy.

Acceptance is not simple.

It’s a labyrinth of confusion

and hope.

It’s lies and truth tangled

in a disgusting, fulfilling web.

Moments flying by,

like bats in the night.

Life is as dark as the caves

left beneath the earth

with only a single light

to tell you

when it’s safe again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becca Mahar

Poetry is my passion. I tend to spill my heart out in my writing, so if you enjoy compelling emotional poems, my page is for you. I'm a neverending abyss of emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.