Poets logo

Caveat

Unlimit Art

By Deanna Repose OaksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Caveat
Photo by Lucas Alexander on Unsplash

Never apologize for your heart beats

Or how the script reads

Show me how pain bleeds

With ear-splitting screams

Or passive lullabies

Just hand me your heartache

Force me to feel in my own ways

Make your pain mine

Change me completely

Assign me first chair in your symphony

Allow me to shatter like glass

Against obsidian

Watch me rise, a Phoenix from ash

As your scars strengthen mine

Don't pull me back from the brink

Propel me off the cliff

Keep me along in your broken ride

That junker car on the back of the tow truck

I was there, I really was

Until you uttered your…

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Deanna Repose Oaks

Deanna Repose Oaks started writing poetry as a teenager and never stopped. Inspired by an Editor's Choice Award for "I Give Up" from poetry.com in 2006, she started publshing books in 2007.

Find her on facebook: @deannareposeoaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.