Poets logo

Caught in the crossfires

When it wasn't your fault

By Kelsey WindsPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
Like
Caught in the crossfires
Photo by Stijn Swinnen on Unsplash

I was simply a casualty caught in your crossfires

In a war I didn’t start or want to be a part of

You didn’t make me a soldier, instead you held me in the dark

But I was the one in the end who lost

Was it your knife that stabbed me?

Was it the “enemy” you remark?

I heard the war cries in my sleep

But pushed them off as snide remarks

No one knows anything until everyone knows everything

And I laid awake at night, praying about the fight

I ignored the signs hoping their crimson shine would fade

But in the end, you got away with a medal and honors

And I was simply a casualty caught in your crossfires

Free VerseFirst DraftElegy
Like

About the Creator

Kelsey Winds

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.