Poets logo

Cathartic Release

Poem and some inspiration for anyone that needs it!

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
22
Cathartic Release
Photo by J'Waye Covington on Unsplash

Overlooked again

Underappreciated?

Maybe? maybe not

*

Won't let it hold me

Back, down or out from trying

I'll dust myself off

*

Won't let the bitter

Internal thoughts and feelings

Take me down too low

*

Until the next time

When there's another chance to

Maybe get the win

*

Thanks for reading!

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirational
22

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Nice! 👏

  • Well now! Wasn’t this just the saviour poem at just the right time!!!!! 😇🥹 Thanks Paul

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is great attitude. Hang in there. You're fabulous.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Love this encouragement. You are a light, my friend. I am sorry you've been feeling down and out, though. I'm slowly learning to detach my heart from expectation, and most importantly, any sense of logic. And hey, since when is art logical? ❤️❤️❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Paul... this is a great piece and a wonderful reminder, pal! Dusting myself off... a LOT. lol! So happy you are here putting your work into our feeds!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I have written too many words about what to do when you have not won a contest, but I prefer your response. Thanks!

  • Test9 months ago

    Loved this! And here it on every level! Half the time i'm teetering 'jesus christ this person spells their nane right and gets a top story in 20 minutes and OMG I'm so shit, I should kill all the pens' 🤣. I just read the first runner up by Lydia Stewart (and working through) All I can think is WTF am I doing anywhere there? It's all so abitary. Dean's is amazing x. And, YOU are a phenomenal writer and even more than that a wonderful human being who supports others even when they are completly new, freaking the hell out and just in need of a little encouragement. And there you were!

  • Awww, Paul. Judges Smudges. They're all just air bubbles. And what's the purpose of an air bubble? Yes, nothing! But you sir, you are a writer. A writer you wins each time he writes. For to write is to win. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️🍩🥐

  • I'm with Heather on this one. Both on you being a winner & me (not Heather) serving as a repellant.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Very inspirational, Paul. Good work

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    You are a winner in my eyes :) And I appreciate the positivity although I think I repel it like two magnets pushed together.

  • Darkos9 months ago

    Great! Hope You gonna win next time ! :)

  • Matthew Fromm9 months ago

    always appreciate the inspiration my friend!

  • Test9 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great work! Stay positive!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Hang in there Paul 👍

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Extremely relatable lol Love that we have these feelings together 😂

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm sure I'm not the only one who will find this very relatable! Well done, Paul!

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    that's exactly why I keep trying. Life is too short to just give up. thank you for sharing your thoughts. You are an inspiration.

  • Sara 9 months ago

    Loved this little dose of inspiration 🫶 sometimes I need to remind myself that I do whatever I do for me and not for anyone else’s attention or approval. Thank you for bringing that up!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.