Poets logo

Castles in the Sky

Something separates us

By Ingrid HoyosPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Castles in the Sky
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

We’re not the same

I can go days without sunshine

But not without words

Sometimes I forget how to sleep

But never how to dream

You believe in numbers

I believe in stars

You put your wealth in a stack of bricks

And I

Build castles in the sky

We’re not the same

I’m okay with not belonging

Lots of good people never did

The world loves winners

But the sky was made for poets

You look away when things get deep

I lay it all on the line

You place your bets on a cruel system

While I

Build castles in the sky

You’ll probably succeed

But you’ll never meet anyone like me

And I’ll never meet anyone like you

Outside my front door debating if the moment is right

All the self-talk fading away as you show me who you really are

Even if it’s just for the night

Tomorrow we both know that I’ll be left behind

While you conquer the world

I

Build castles in the sky

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Ingrid Hoyos

Former journalist. Freelance writer. Perpetually curious. Painfully creative. Poetry is my outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Brinasabout a year ago

    Ingrid Hoyos tames the wild sky. It shapes it poetically. Original approach.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    This was so beautiful. I resonated with this part especially. "I can go days without sunshine But not without words Sometimes I forget how to sleep But never how to dream"

  • Autumn2 years ago

    WOW! I love this piece of poetry such a beautiful concept and very creative lines

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.