Poets logo

Cast a Line

12:59am

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Cast a Line
Photo by natsuki on Unsplash

Embracing vulnerability,

I casted a line,

And put myself out there, ventured forth,

Pedaling my bike to your doorstep,

And spent the night.

Awake, we conversed,

Exploring our world views,

And in the depths of connection,

We found common ground.

Confiding erratic emotions,

I casted a line,

Put myself out there,

And when I was sure enough, trudged ahead,

Penning my name on college-ruled paper,

Expressed opinions before a deadline’s demand,

Hormones partial to the task to explain who I am.

I put myself out there,

Blogged my thoughts

On vast social media stages,

Casting a line naively,

Revealing my innermost self,

Week after week, chronicling my life,

With words and photos,

I put myself out there.

Filling out applications,

Divulging personal information,

I dared to put myself out there, unafraid,

Chasing dreams fueled by ambition’s fire,

I casted a line,

My aspirations to live "The American Dream" would reach ever higher.

Vows exchanged, an oath to honor and cherish,

I casted a line,

And pined with unrequited love before the echoes of it faded away,

Yet still, I persisted, by writing and healing,

Confiding in professionals to guide my way,

Crafting countless poems because at least there, my heart still held sway.

Then again, I put myself out there by casting a line,

My old friend Music served as my release,

A symphony of feelings, my commentary,

Reflected on what was lost, done, and gone.

For in the act of putting myself out there,

I am free,

And live in the tracts of humanity that does the same.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    This is so amazing what are you waiting for join my friends and read what I have prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.