Poets logo

Cash 4 Gold

Poems About Things People Don't Write Poems About #2

By James GilfillanPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Golden corkscrew walking-sticks, from the seventh century

Why is it that you want all our gold, Cash 4 Gold?

Why our necklaces, Rolexes, wedding rings old, Cash 4 Gold?

Do you know something we don't, that we should be told, Cash 4 Gold?

But then you flutter the rolls of notes and I'm sold,

And I take a hold of the pre-post envelope

And send off my gold to you, Cash 4 Gold.

What could you want with so much gold, Cash 4 Gold?

Why our antiques, relics and trinkets old, Cash 4 Gold?

And why show us it melting, and poured into the mould, Cash 4 Gold?

But my griping you scold; I better do as I'm told!

And so I take hold of the pre-post envelope

And send off my gold to you, Cash 4 Gold.

Gold prices have hit all-time lows, Cash 4 My Nose!

Jewellery is junk when the economy slows, Cash 4 My Nose!

Whatever will you ask next; my feet, my toes, Cash 4 My Nose?!

Now I'm watching your nose. Watch how it grows, Pinocchio.

But you've torn the clothes from my back and so I need new clothes.

So I'll send off my nose to you, Cash 4 My Nose.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

James Gilfillan

Hello. I'm James and I'm one of the many budding writers working in customer service handling your call today. Do you have any preference as to the colour of the cat? I'm afraid we don't have an orange one in, but there's always paint.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.