Poets logo

Cart Full of Snacks

Frosted Lucky Charms

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
5

One cold winter morn,

I shuffled from

house to car

and car to the store.

Down the isles

I strode

as I dropped

items in the cart.

I paused

I smiled

at the red box

that mom

let me hide away

in my reading nook.

Secured away from

my siblings

was a box

of Lucky Charms.

No bowl

no spoon

nor milk

was needed

only a fist

full of fingers

to grab

my reading snack.

Sweetened grains

mingled with

a star

a moon

and a diamond or two

danced among

teeth and tongue.

One page read

with my tasty treat

crunchy oats

with squeaky

marshmallow pieces

to revel in.

Minutes,

and many an hour

would pass by

as I indulged

in the ritual

of my reading rights.

Sweet days

and sometimes nights,

I lingered

eating and reading

to my delight.

Magically delicious

treats and words

sustained my body

and fortified my soul.

A magical moment

my Lucky Charms

and I shared.

Imagination built

through years

for today

one and two

boxes were placed

in my cart

I smiled

at my childhood

treat

knowing that

the ritual remains

as a childhood

treat

that was just for me.

Family
5

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    This is so vibrant: Sweetened grains mingled with a star a moon and a diamond or two danced among What a great memory your mom gave you! teeth and tongue.

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Well done.

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    I had a similar relationship with York Peppermint Patties. Thanks for this memory.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.