Poets logo

carson

‘Be careful’ I said ‘Of course’ You said

By Joann ClaudePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
carson
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

‘Be careful’

I said

‘Of course’

You said

And you looked deep into my eyes

Placing your hands on my chest

Reaching your fingers right through my skin

Out comes my heart in your hand

As if it were on a silver platter

Exactly as you ordered

Black

Bruised

Barely beating

Nervously I explain every scar

‘Don’t drop it’

I said

‘Never’

You said

And you looked deep into my eyes

Bringing the broken blob to your lips

Tenderly you kissed it

You kissed the broken.

And we watched as it began to glow

Bright

Beautiful

Brought to life

I can’t explain this

‘This must be love’

I said

‘Must Be’

You said

I smiled

You smiled

And I swallow hard as I notice the change in your gaze

My swallow doesn’t land

I realize I cannot breathe

I feel something sticky on my stomach

Blood

My blood

trickling down

Spilling out from the hole in my chest

Mouth wide open I gasp for air

I fall to my knees

Tears in my eyes

Vision blurred

Watching as you squeeze my heart in your hands

Pain.

‘Please don’t’

I said

And you sa-

sad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Joann Claude

“I'm not sure why

I have the inexplainable urge

To tell everyone I come in contact with

That I'm dying”

-a million thoughts all at once after a brief interaction with a customer at work

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Laurel Mayfield11 months ago

    It’s beautiful and tragic. Your writing is always so profound and tinged with pain and it’s always done so well. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.