Poets logo

Carnivale

When Life goes around in circles

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image of ferris wheel, Coney Island, NYC

It is Sunday,

February 28, 2021.

I feel that

I should mark this banal day

just because,

just because.

Wishing tomorrow would

be the end of it all,

the end of the bullshit.

Your vindictiveness is stale -

it goes around in circles and circles

Am I on some carousel to Hades?

Your contradictions are old -

they defy each other

so it's hard to keep track of

which strand is the truth.

I negate you -

to do that is the worst treatment

that I can allot to a being,

I've been told.

Being with you

is a death sentence

I want a divorce,

a fin,

there has to be an end

to this macabre ferris wheel ride.

I desert you

I leave you

I erased all the breadcrumbs

so there is no path of coming back

You patriarch -

you're NOTHING more;

I regret the trench warfare

my body has seen,

the toll inflicted on

my years,

my youth

because of your deranged

agenda.

I desert you

I leave you

in hopes of a shelter

that is kinder and more gentle

This is NOT you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.