Poets logo

Careworn

A quick look at Raynaud's disease.

By KBPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Careworn
Photo by Gert Stockmans on Unsplash

Sitting at breakfast

Eating my bowl

Of soggy cereal

Left out while

I brushed my teeth

Blood rushes

Out of my fingertips

In an instant

From simply

holding a spoon.

How nice it would be

To not be numb

In the cold.

Because the cold

Is inviting

Is everlasting

Is comforting

Encouraging even.

To feel my toes

When I dance

Earth underneath

Grounding me

Is so enticing

Walking barefoot

Without a care

Besides a scrape

Or a splinter.

To hold a hand

Without fabric

Cutting off

The connection

To be worried about

Sweaty palms

On a first date

Instead.

My untroubled mind

Is now

Careworn.

I'm tired.

Bored of the

Inconsistency

And of the resident

It has become.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.