Poets logo

Cardboard!

Follow along in this rhyming tale of a child’s adventures with cardboard boxes

By stowballPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
19

Trying on my new school shoes.

A sailboat takes a gentle cruise.

Dad’s just bought a big TV.

A monster rises from the sea.

Cupboards full of breakfast boxes.

Masks of lions, deer and foxes.

Today’s the day for our new fridge.

A stunt car jumps a lifting bridge.

We’ve collected toilet rolls.

A sentry robot’s on patrol.

I’ve found a heap of moving chests.

Armoured police now make arrests.

Setting up my brand new bed.

A castle ruined, a dragon dead.

Lots of parcels at our door.

A submarine departs for war.

It’s my birthday, packaged gifts.

Boosters fire, a rocket lifts.

But all good things come to an end.

Sometimes they’re just too broke to mend.

“Oh, mum, don’t throw them out just yet!

I love these things. I’ll get upset!”

“You have a room jam-packed with toys!

Find something else that you enjoy.”

“This cardboard, tape, paint and glue

Make all my fantasies come true!”

“Now, listen, please do not refuse.

Take them out to be reused.”

“Actually, mum, they’re fine to scrap.

I’ve just found the bubble wrap!”

childrens poetry
19

About the Creator

stowball

I design: digital, craft, board games.

I write: code, fiction, reviews.

I play: games, guitar, football.

See my: complete Best Of Switch indies list

Say hi: twitter.com/stowball

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.