Poets logo

Caravan of Souls

They live inside me, these old spirits.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read

Her blood is in my veins,

Pounding through my arteries

With words and dreams unfulfilled

Like an undercurrent of poison

Determined not to fade into the expanse

But to hum against my skin and never be lost

To the riptide of if, when, and tomorrow.

_____________________________

There are tears clustered at the edges

Of the sepia tones where she whispers to me,

Don't let me go. I have a name.

She knows me as I know her,

A floating body through the veil of forever

With the same German bones and proud, pursed lips.

_____________________________

We are celestial sisters,

Twin women bearing the burden of life, love, and loss

As though when the moon is high, 150 years

Cease to separate us.

We are each other's craters,

One another's night sky.

The stretch of past, the fog of future.

_____________________________

How long have we travelled togteher

This shadow in my blood and I?

Has it been so long that the slim line between then and now

Vanished into the stardust

Or have the other strangers occupying bone and breath

Usurped the solitary connection between us?

_____________________________

Am I a caravan of souls parading through the night?

Do I run through forests carrying one thousand plights,

Cradling my train cars of unfinished fights to my chest

With bated breath?

_____________________________

They are all crammed inside the cramped caverns of my chest.

Dreaming inside my ribcage,

All murmuring a different tune

And I am a cacophony. A dream undreamed,

A galaxy stretching its arms wide and gathering

The dust of generations just so it can breathe again.

_____________________________

As always, check out my Instagram @silver.serpent.books and feel free to leave a heart here if you like it and if you really like it, drop me a tip :)

vintage

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.