Poets logo

Cannibal Corpse

The Dreamer's Cannibal Corpse

By Christopher ShaversPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I sit here, patient for a taste of

This new delicacy.

Surrounding bodies jabber on and complain.

But for some reason,

I feel out of place.

The Sun closes it eyes for the day to end.

The door locks and blinds shut.

The manager says “Let the feast begin.”

I look around and nothing is as it was.

The surrounding bodies begin to make

These strange noises.

My stomach roars into the melody.

But for some reason,

I feel out of place.

Giant plates and saucers were put on

Every table.

The squealing, chirping, and growling

Were overcome by the constant

Slamming of utensils on the tables.

Those around me started to show

Animal-like features,

As if they were shedding camouflage.

Now for some reason,

I feel completely out of place.

When the lids were lifted

Those creatures leered with lurking lust.

It smelled fishy to see a tuna

Drooling over baked catfish,

Pigs preparing to partake in roast rump & rice,

King Cobra teasingly licking Orochimaru,

And even

A hare not scared to admit she’s ensnared

By the allure of her Poor Fair Pair Stew.

“Bone Appetite” and on was the feast.

Watching these moral less self-engulfing

Beast feast on family and friends,

Stirred in me something terrible.

I feel completely out of place,

Yet comfortable.

The King of The Forest and Cheetah

Shared a side of Alley Cat with House Entrails.

The Jags had no problem with Mrs. Fox

Even if Mr. Fox was a bit overdone.

The lady bugs enjoyed their share of

The Tall Green, Crunchy Cake, and

Hopper Surprise.

The Surprise was Hopper still had some kicks.

I feared for what these soulless creatures

Had in store for me.

I feel completely out of place,

Yet comfortable.

I dug in uncontrollably in my well-done meat.

More and more came, more and more I ate.

Later, I realized I was just like everyone else.

I became/become an empty vessel

Surviving off my own kind.

I am what I eat.

I ate at Cannibal Corpse, I am a

Cannibal corpse.

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Shavers

Start writing...I am the Author of Circus by Christopher Shavers and the Author in Faceless Entertainment. I love to write and perform. Be it me bringing nightmares to life in stories or my journey through poetry. Enjoy the Show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.