Poets logo

Candlelight

Kitties by Candlelight

By Emily ValdezPublished 6 years ago โ€ข 1 min read
Like

I watch you dance in my eyes, flickering but never extinguished. I see how you glow and I wait. I wonder. I hear the crackle and I feel at home. Candlelight, you know me. And I know you.

Oh, sweet light, you know me well with the flickering and crackle. I canโ€™t help but stare. Do you realize how you make the world look?

How much more glorious it is just because of your light? You make the simplest things looks ethereal. You make a world glow in such darkness that I cannot fear the dark. Why fear the dark when I look for your glow?

Staring into the flame, I see what lies behind me and what lies ahead. I wonder. Do you whisper sweet nothings to all who come across you?

art
Like

About the Creator

Emily Valdez

Some of my posts are from when I was full of teen angst. I wrote mostly through the roller coaster of a relationship like all teens have at one point. Some other stuff is newer and less dark. Hope you give it all a chance. Happy reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.