Poets logo

Candle

Be my friend.

By Hailey MattsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Thomas Bormans

Candle

Burn out

Fade to the black now

I see you hiding behind the pillar

Don't run from me

Come a little closer

You love this cat and mouse game

Don't go away

I just wanna be friends

I wanna burn my hand upon your skin

Like you do to my mind all the damn time

My chest, neck, stomach, and throat

Your invisible grasp clings to my soul

Rips out my truth

Has people doubting my reasons

Proof is what I need to show them

But what is there to show

When you like to hide whenever there's a crowd

Only coming about when you wanna sink me down

In the cracks of the floor just so more people can step on my already broken bones

The flame in your eyes has transferred to mine

I'm not gonna be that naive girl

The one you can keep stepping over like a shard of glass in the road

Don't lose sleep over me

I've already lost my mind to far out of sight

Openly bleed

Tie up my body so I can't leave my haven

I lay all day trying to find the strength to keep moving

Your traces of steps invite me to play in the dark, depths of your wretched behavior

Let me free

I can't handle the badger continuously

Fade to the black now

Burn out

Candle

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hailey Mattson

I'm just a girl sitting in front of a screen asking you to listen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.