Poets logo

Canary Yellow

A Bird Song

By Nneka CallwoodPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Canary Yellow
Photo by João furlani on Unsplash

I wanted you to like, when I write, about the things that I like.

But you don’t like, anything that I like.

And I like you.

I like me too.

I guess you dislike the both of us.

I wonder what makes me so yellow,

and what makes you so blue.

Is it the things that I like?

Because I like you too.

Sometimes I love you.

But I like you too.

Because the things that you like,

mean something to you.

And because you like them,

they mean something to me.

But what I like most all?

I like being free.

If the things that you like, put me in a cage,

allow me to turn the page.

Though I like green

if liking you means,

I have to merge, blend, get lost in your blue.

Then I'll stay yellow,

because I like yellow too.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Nneka Callwood

Just a tree, planted by the rivers of waters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.