Poets logo

Can You See My World?

Oh the wonder of the world

By Amie LockhartPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Beach Life Through The Looking Glass Canvas Print by Az Jackson

Can you see my world? It’s black, it’s white, it’s blue.

Every color lives here but at the same time, they don’t.

Living here in my memories I say I’m lonely and I yearn for the aching touch

of light but I closely observe from behind.

Here the light is dwindling but sparkling all at once.

I’m seeing, believing but also dreading. The dreams are fading and the beauty at youth that once empowered me,

inspired me is escaping. Listen, can you hear the crashing sound of the ocean or the cry of distant wildlife anymore?

Where are the beautiful lights that sparkled in the sky, the discovery

that made bitter days sweet when days were long and tiring?

It’s fading, the memories are fading and the camera

keeps rolling until finally, it flickers off.

Wait! Listen! Is that the sing-song laughing of a carousel nearby. Listen, listen but just a moment and almost, almost you can hear it, it comes from the rolling tides we hear like music in our ears.

Pressed to the earth you can almost hear the thumping heart of the memories for there they roam along the plains. Calming, fluid, and steady as beating drums.

Only just as quick, it's gone and I’m back in my mind by the flat wide never-ending tunnel, that deepens its way like a descending pit.

I can see the fading fireworks at the edges of the tunnel almost

as if the corners of my eye. Once again everything is black, white, and blue

And when I’m awoken, I ask how can life so full of meaning become so broken.

One day the light and its dazzling beauty will return but until then,

Can you see my world?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amie Lockhart

To start with I know everyone has a story, my story... well I'm hoping it turns out interesting and I hope with vocal I get to share it without the concerns that interrupt me at home. Let's see what type of story you get to see in me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.