Poets logo

Can You Hear?

I want to go ...

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Can You Hear?
Photo by Parsa Mir on Unsplash

Hello?

Is anyone there?

Can you hear me?

It's okay... no one ever does

I just listen to the buzz

The humming over the wires

Wishing I could transform myself

To electrical particles...

Become a stream of data

Digitalized and sent ...

I'd flit from pole to pole

Faster than the fastest bullet train

Going Somewhere ....

Anywhere ...

Somewhere that is not here

Alone in this cramped space

Where he dumped me

When he was done

Discarded like a bag of trash

In this dark basement

With my dead phone

With my dead body

And the gnawing rats

surreal poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so sad. That's how I felt too when he left me. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.