Poets logo

Can we meet Vocal's moderators

This rare phenomenon is welcome. Are they the same folks or has there been a change? It feels different, like the wind shifted somehow!

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Can we meet Vocal's moderators
Photo by John Cameron on Unsplash

I would like to meet Vocal's Moderators, again

This rare phenomenon would be welcomed indeed

Are they the same folks or has there been a change?

It feels different, like the wind shifted somehow!

I started happily writing stories on Vocal in 21'

Oh joy! My childhood fantasy of becoming a famous poet

Would finally materialize and become really real

I did not necessarily need to see my name in lights

I could just write and write to my heart's content

And revisit my literary children whenever I wished

And truthfully, score a TOP STORY every now and then

Is that too much to ask? Funny facetious me, please ignore

The Pandemic was at the height of her deadly game

Tearing through the land without mercy, without

objectivity, without discrimination

She was a cruel mistress

I was sadly on my own at the time

Far away from family and home; work, you see

I found great relief, and much enjoyment

A kind of therapy, to write on Vocal

My first stories were, in hindsight, not so good

But, you published them anyway. Thank you

I wanted to rekindle my childhood hopes

I was happy! My brain was firing it's neurons again

Year 22' began ok too. Then the wind started to shift

A rare occurrence affecting an entire family of creators

Ideas and 'updates to terms of service' got revisited

Updates were made. Some were wonderful, like Comments

Faster read time, Quick Edits, among many more

But a strange thing happened.

The more the platform improved, the more writers

Felt disconnected, many not all, I suppose. I did, it made me sad

I thought of quitting. I don't like quitting. I like to write

Vocal appears now tunnel visioned

Not seeing the big picture

Writers are your MAINSTAY. Treat them well!

SPREAD THE LOVE AROUND!

Writers BE VOCAL!

Don't get me wrong...I adore you Vocal guys

You are like Manna (food) from Heaven

Feeding my literary soul!

Writing is in my blood, I cannot resist

Cannot stop even if I wanted to

I do not feel fairness is much of a Vocal motto anymore

There seems to be a 'popular kids' club, leaving everyone

Who is not a member, out in the dust

Descriptive and colorful unmentionable words

Rare their ugly heads. I hope that I am wrong.

In your defence, I don't share as much as many

It's not my goal to whine and complain

Just stating an observation, making some points

For, should reward not be based on talent

Rather then how many likes or shares one receives

Right! I know that those are important

Likes and shares are sometimes opportunistic as well

There are many wonderful stories left ignored, unread

A bit of recognition, spread all around would kindle a fire

Within more souls, and encourage more sharing

Not unlike complimenting a child, sharing would be

More appetizing if given a slight nudge in the derriere

Aziz Archarki on Unsplash

A rare phenomenon indeed, would be management giving a hoot

About what the Proletariat (working class like myself) has to say!

Don't you think?

[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[

Right'O. Further into the Vocal doghouse I go.

social commentaryslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Take me to the dog house with you!! I also joined in 2021 and had the same hopes and dreams, I still do! You say the things I think and with way more authority than I could ever dream of! You are so brave and talented. I value your insight and strength like none other! Thanks for being such a beautiful soul!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.