Poets logo

Can't Win

Villanelle

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
10
Can't Win
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

“No, not this again.

You’re wrong and you don’t care.

I’m done.” // “Fighting, you can’t win,

`

so you just quit. When

Will you grow a pair?”

“No, not this again!

`

How typical of men.

Attack to avoid admitting error.”

“I’m done fighting. You can’t win,

`

but won’t lose -- yet pretend

that you're the martyr fighting fair!"

"No! Not ...” // "THIS again?

`

The tears? Typical of women --"

"I'm at breaking point, I swear.

I’m done fighting you." // "Can’t win

`

for losing, right?" // "That's how it's been.

This fight is all we share."

"No. Not this --" // "Again,

I’m done. Fighting ... we can’t win.”

~~

~~

[Author's Note: I initially published this poem while it was still an incomplete draft, so this is the *actual* final version. Thanks for reading.]

Villanelle
10

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Particularly tough when both parties feel this way & neither wants to. Incredibly evocative & with the repetitive form of the villanelle, so thoroughly true to the sense of those never-ending fights no one wins (whether they think they did or not).

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, this was so powerful. Really felt your pain.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This actually hurt reading lol. If only because I have been that type of man in the past. So, you really nailed it. So when I say it hurt, it got me emotionally. Well done, Sonia. Always enjoy your work and this is another sterling example of your ingenuity (that formatting is great) and your flair for wordsmithery!

  • This seemed very accurate to the reality of how it is. Loved your poem!

  • Ward Norcutt4 months ago

    Cool concept, Sonia! Is your final quatrain punctuated how you want it? and is it ( the format) viewing as you intend? It's very clever.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Great word play.

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Great storytelling of a villanelle.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.